Included in the plans of the Philippine Council on Health Research and Development (PCHRD) after the conduct of the 2015 Global Forum on Research and Innovation for Health held last August 24-27, 2015 at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) Manila is to recognize the effort of the host agency, the Council on Health Research for Development (COHRED) through allowing its staff to visit the scenic places of Ilocos Region.

One of the itineraries on the said visit was a luncheon gathering to meet the R1HRDC Members and its Chairman, Dr. Maria Lourdes K. Otayza, in Ilocos Norte at the Herencia Restaurant, Paoay Ilocos Norte. Among the R1HRDC Members participated were Northwestern University (NWU), represented by Atty. Ferdinand Nicolas & Dr. Elsie Pilar, The Black Nazarene Hospital Inc. (TBNHI), represented by Dr. Jonathan Noble, Northern Christian College (NCC), represented by Dr. Nenita Blanco, Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU), represented by Dr. Jose Cueto Jr. and Dr. Manolito Crisostomo and Mariano Marcos Memorial Hospital and Medical Center (MMMH&MC) represented by MMMH&MC Staff. The gathering was meant to discuss important issues regarding research.


The Mariano Marcos Memorial Hospital and Medical Center (MMMH&MC) Research Ethics Review Committee (RERC) received the highest level of accreditation (Level III) from the Philippine Health Research Ethics Board (PHREB) in Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City during the 1st PHREB National Conference which coincided with the hosting of the 14th Forum for Ethical Review Committees in Asia and the Western Pacific (FERCAP) General Assembly on November 25-26, 2014 respectively. The Philippines hosted this remarkable international event.

The Level III Certificate with accreditation number (L-3-2014-007-01) dated (November 25, 2014 to expire on November 25, 2017) was handed over by Dr.  Jaime C. Montoya- Executive Director PCHRD-DOST) to Dr. Maria Lourdes K. Otayza-MMMH&MC Medical Center Chief II together with some of the hospital’s RERC Members who were in attendance. With this level III Accreditation, MMMH&MC can now review all types of research which include Clinical Drug Trials (Phases 1 to 4). Furthermore, the MMMH&MC RERC is given the privilege to be part of the Ethics Review Resource Committees of the Philippine Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

On the 2nd day, November 26, 2014, MMMH&MC RERC was also awarded with a Plaque of Recognition by Forum for Ethical Review Committees in Asia and the Western Pacific (FERCAP) Chair- Kenji Hirayama in compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki, International Conference on Harmonization (ICH) Guidelines, Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Standards, Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences (CIOMS) Guidelines, WHO Standards and Operational Guidance for Ethics Review of Health Related Research and Surveying and Evaluating Ethical Review Practices, EC/IRB Standard Operating Procedures (SOP’s) and Local Regulations and Standards in Ethical Review.

As such, MMMH&MC RERC can be called upon by the FDA to conduct regulatory reviews on its behalf. The MMMH&MC RERC is one of the twelve (12) Accredited Review Committees in the Philippines and the 1st Institutional Review Board to be accredited in Region I.

The National Award and the International Recognition would not have been made possible were it not for the unstinted support of Dr. Maria Lourdes K. Otayza (Medical Center Chief II); the guidance of Dr. Cristina E. Torres (FERCAP Region Coordinator), Dr. Marita V. T. Reyes (Chairman, National Ethics Committee and Member, PHREB Sub-Committee on Standards and Accreditation), Dr. Cecilia V. Tomas (Chair, PHREB Sub-Committee on Standards and Accreditation), Dr. Evangeline Olivar-Santos (Member, PHREB Sub-Committee on Standards and Accreditation) and Prof. Edlyn Jimenez (Member, PHREB Sub-Committee on Standards and Accreditation) ; and the group effort of the MMMH&MC RERC officers and members namely: Ms. Marcia Abadilla-Fellizar (Chairman), Dr. Michael Martin C. Baccay (Co-Chairman), Ms. Flordeliza T. Sagun and Ms. Maita Gretchen A. Najera (Secretary and Assistant Secretary), Mr. Allan Fellizar, Dr. Analyn Q. Urbano, Dr. Joan T. Galano, Mr. Marlon U. dela Cruz, Ms. Lilia M. Tabones, Dr. Maria Paz Virgina K. Otayza, as members; Dr. Mary Lu B. Magno (Non-Affiliated Member); Ms. Zonia A. Tinio (Lay Person); Prof. Gaiselle Mabeza and Mr. Antonio Valdez as Lay Members and Ms. Kristine Joy C. Castro as Support Staff.




Featured Links






Events Calendar

September 2018
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6