The Department of Science and Technology- Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (DOST-PCHRD) in cooperation with Gruppo Medical, Inc. (GMI) is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2016 DOST-PCHRD- Gruppo Medical Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis in Herbal Medicine.

The award is given to provide motivation for students, with the technical guidance of their faculty adviser, to view undergraduate thesis as an excellent opportunity to contribute to national interest. The Award recognizes relevant and innovative research works on herbal medicine that can lead to practical and/or commercial applications.

The search is open to all undergraduate students of Colleges of Pharmacy, Chemistry, Nursing and Arts and Sciences who have completed their thesis projects on medicinal plants in the current school year. Nomination must be made by the students’ faculty adviser using the prescribed nomination form. Please take note that any alteration on the nomination form is not allowed. All nominees must submit the following requirements together with the nomination form: (1) one soft and hard copies of the thesis report, (2) plant authentication certification and (3) Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) certification for researches involving animals and/or Ethical clearance from an Ethics Review Committee for researches involving human participants. Nominations with incomplete requirements will automatically be excluded from the list of official entries. A maximum of three (3) thesis projects are allowed per institution.

The Gruppo Medica, Inc. Will be giving a cash prize of P 60,000.00 for the first prize winner (P 42,000 for the student, P 12,000 for the mentor and P 6,000 for the school), P 40,000 for the second prize winner (P 28,000 for the student, P 8,000 for the mentor and P 4,000 for the school) and P 20,000 for the third prize winner (P 14,000 for the student, P4, 000 for the mentor and P2, 000 for the school).

Nominations should reach the consortium not later than May 20, 2016 but the consortium encourages concerned colleges/universities to submit all nominations on or before May 16, 2016 to the R1HRDC Secretary Ms. Ana Gay D. Ranga c/o Mariano Marcos Memorial Hospital and Medical Center, Batac City, Ilocos Norte with telephone number 077-617-1517 or 09308817266.

A copy of guidelines and nomination form will send to your respective institutions/agencies for your reference.

Research News

Featured Links